Pantera - Cowboys from Hell


Pantera’s first real groove metal album saw the band fully evolve from their glam metal roots. It would be their breakout record within the metal scene. They took the sharp guitar riffs of thrash and filled in the rest with hardcore punk intensity, harsher vocals and Southern groove. Standout tracks include the title track “Cowboys From Hell” and “Cemetry Gates.”



Perhaps most well known for their contribution to Spongebob Squarepants Season 2, Episode 27a with the song “Pre-Hibernation,” Pantera also did other stuff. They began as a humble glam metal band in 1980s Texas. When the 90s rolled around and they decided to trade in their spandex, the natural next step for the glam band was to go to the opposite extreme of thrash metal. But through Pantera’s metamorphosis from glam-haired caterpillar to somehow even more hairy thrash butterfly, they developed and popularized a new style of metal called power groove. The band would become one of the most popular and influential heavy metal bands of the 90s. Vocalist Phil Anselmo is a homegrown New Orleanian who never once was accused of being a racist after saying something racist, ever. More importantly, their guitarist “Dimebag” Darrell is commonly mentioned as the greatest metal guitarist of all time. Sadly, Darrell was shot and killed on stage in 2004, which marked a tragic end for an ex-glam band that undeniably changed the face of metal forever.



  1. Cowboys from Hell
  2. Primal Concrete Sledge
  3. Psycho Holiday
  4. Heresy
  5. Cemetery Gates
  6. Domination
  7. Shattered
  8. Clash with Reality
  9. Medicine Man
  10. Message in Blood
  11. The Sleep
  12. The Art of Shredding
0 stars based on 0 reviews
Barcode: 081227890988