Queens Of The Stone Age - Rated R


Opening with a thumping bassline and pounding drums, “Feel Good Hit of The Summer” would immortalize Queens of the Stone Ages’ contribution to rock in one chant, “Nicotine, Valium, Vicodin, marijuana, ecstasy, and alcohol,” and of course "C-c-c-c-c-cocaine.” The band’s sophomore album would become their calling card, the weird hard rock band that wasn’t redefining the genre but was adamantly defying it. While rock radio was full of Nirvana clones and nu-metal, QOTSA was doing something edgier and more antagonistic without getting lost in the weirdness like Modest Mouse and The New Pornographers. The album forced people to take sides. Walmart banned the album. Critics loved it. Take what you like and leave the rest. Stand-out tracks include, “In The Fade,” “Tension Head” and “The Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret.”



Out of the ashes of desert stoner band Kyuss, Josh Homme created Queens of the Stone Ages. Despite being an insufferable scumbag, Hommes was able to carve a niche into the hard rock world of the time dominated by nu-metal and Nickelback clones. The band then would make a uniquely experimental discography that never broke convection but consistently snarkily defied it. They balanced the sexy and accessible sides of rock with the weird and wild, making them one of the biggest rock bands of the 21st century.




  1. Feel Good Hit of the Summer
  2. Lost Art of Keeping a Secret
  3. Leg of Lamb
  4. Auto Pilot
  5. Better Living Through Chemistry
  6. Monsters in the Parasol
  7. Quick and to the Pointless
  8. In the Fade
  9. Tension Head
  10. Lightning Song
  11. I Think I Lost My Headache
  12. Ode to Clarissa


0 stars based on 0 reviews
Barcode: 606949068325