Queens of the Stone Age - Songs for the Deaf


The breakout album for Queens of the Stone Ages, “Songs for the Deaf” features Dave Grohl on drums and some of the band’s, hell even the decade's best hard rock. Roughly capturing the drug-addled vibe of driving with the band from the dense smog of LA to the dry heat of Palm Springs, this album winds with the roads traveled. Chaotic traffic, massive highways, narrow hill passes, hundred of windmills as far as the eye can see and of course, a rolling, rumbling van barreling through it all. The hit track “No One Knows” mimics the up and down dips and peaks of a stretch of road in the desert that rides like pavement over sound waves. If you want to get into the fear and loathing, check out tracks like “Go With the Flow,” “First it Giveth” and “Songs For The Dead.”



Out of the ashes of desert stoner band Kyuss, Josh Homme created Queens of the Stone Ages. Despite being an insufferable scumbag, Hommes was able to carve a niche into the hard rock world of the time dominated by nu-metal and Nickelback clones. The band then would make a uniquely experimental discography that never broke convection but consistently snarkily defied it. They balanced the sexy and accessible sides of rock with the weird and wild, making them one of the biggest rock bands of the 21st century.




  1. You Think I Ain't Worth a Dollar, But I Feel Like a Millionaire
  2. No One Knows
  3. First It Giveth
  4. A Song for the Dead
  5. The Sky Is Fallin'
  6. Six Shooter
  7. Hangin' Tree
  8. Go with the Flow
  9. Gonna Leave You
  10. Do It Again
  11. God Is in the Radio
  12. Another Love Song
  13. A Song for the Deaf
  14. Mosquito Song (Hidden Track)


0 stars based on 0 reviews