Pixies - Beneath the Eyrie


Released in 2019, “Beneath the Eyrie” is a post-reunion album that shares much of the DNA of the band’s early discography while being honest about where they are now, almost 30 years later. Although not as groundbreaking as albums like “Surfer Rosa” and “Doolittle,” this record does transport the band into a new sonic space that feels gothic and inspired. Standout tracks include the tranquil song “Daniel Boone,” and the darker moments “Graveyard Hill” and “Catfish Kate.”



Within rock canon, there is always a harbinger of the times. An artist or band that defines the course of music for years, decades or more. The Beatles, Pink Floyd and Nirvana catch most of the credit for their respective eras, but few bands have had such a simultaneously ubiquitous but concealed influence as the Pixies. Credited with inventing grunge, the Pixies made pop-rock songs that could be both loud and quiet, sweet and sludgy, pious and irreverent. Their sound blends punk and surf rock for songs about edgy topics and graphic lyrics about eyes splitting, biblical violence and famously, aliens. Though largely ignored in their heyday, they would grow a cult following after their eventual break-up, allowing the band to reunite on top of the world. The music they wrote in the late ‘80s would influence guitar music of the next 30 years, from Radiohead to Wolf Alice, Weezer to Wavves.



  1. In the Arms of Mrs. Mark of Cain
  2. On Graveyard Hill
  3. Catfish Kate
  4. This Is My Fate
  5. Ready for Love
  6. Silver Bullet
  7. Long Rider
  8. Los Surfers Muertos
  9. St. Nazaire
  10. Bird of Prey
  11. Daniel Boone
  12. Death Horizon
0 stars based on 0 reviews
Barcode: 4050538513981