KMD - Black Bastards (LP, Red Double Colored Variant)

The second KMD album explores Black consciousness. Dedicated to DJ Subroc, who died during the production at the age of 19.

The second studio album of the hip-hop trio KMD, Black Bastards' orgin is filled with rife and tragedy. Onyx the Birthstone Kid left the group in the middle of recording, and was removed from multiple tracks. Before the album was finished, DJ Subroc was killed in 1993, at the age of 19, while trying to cross the Nassau Expressway. Alone and mourning his little brother, Zev Love X completed the album in 1994. The group's label suddenly cancelled the album and dropped the group, stating the subject matter was too controversial. The album was eventually released by Readyrock Records in the year 2000. It is dedicated to DJ Subroc. The album has a raw unfinished quality to it, that actually plays well into the content of the music. The genre of the album is widely described as hardcore hip-hop or boom bap. This is a special red variant edition.


KMD, (alias K.M.D, Kausing Much Damage, etc) was a hip-hop trio founded in 1988. The staple of the group was two brothers Dingilizwe Dumile (DJ Subroc) and Daniel Dumile (Zev Love X). The group's third member was originally Jade 1, who was later replaced by Onyx the Birthstone Kid. Their first studio album "Mr. Hood" a comedy album that tackles race issues and samples children's TV. Their next album "Black Bastards" abandoned the light hearted tone of the prior album. During recording, Onyx departed the group. In 1993, Subroc was hit and killed by a car while crossing the Nassau Expressway. He was 19. Zev Love X went on to become MF DOOM, one of the legends of rap. He passed away on Halloween 2020. 




Disc 1

  1. Garbage Day #3
  2. Get-U-Now
  3. What a N*Gga Know?
  4. Sweet Premium Wine
  5. Plumskinnz (Loose Hoe, God & Cupid)
  6. Smokin' That S*@%
  7. Contact Blitt

Disc 2

  1. Gimme
  2. Black Bastards!
  3. It Sounded Like a Roc
  4. Plumskinnz (Oh No I Don't Believe It!)
  5. Constipated Monkey
  6. F*@# Wit' Ya Head
  7. Suspended Animation




0 stars based on 0 reviews
Barcode: 826257036377